PhilaU Basketball
PhilaU Basketball

Burnsville, MN - Sixteen regional winners of the NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award have been announced today.  A male and female Division II Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be selected from the 16 regional winners, eight men and eight women. 

This award, sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, provides the opportunity for Division II to highlight the extraordinary achievements of its student-athletes.  D. II CCA President and Commissioner of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Butch Raymond noted that the award showcases the academic and athletic talent at the NCAA Division II level.  "The CCA Scholar-Athlete Awards exemplify the balance between academics and athletics that is the cornerstone of Division II", explained Raymond.

The commissioners from the regions that comprise the Division II basketball alignment selected the regional winners.  To be nominated for consideration, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.0 career cumulative grade point average and possess outstanding athletic credentials. 

The eight women's regional winners include: Cassondra Boston (Emporia State University); Anita Bulcher (Newberry College); Tori Hansen (West Liberty University); Christine Johnstone (Lynn University);  Kayla Mitchell (Colorado School of Mines); Jessica Pixler (Seattle Pacific); Kyrie Timbrook (Caldwell College); Kyleigh Turner (University of Indianapolis). 

Men's regional winners are:  Myles Burnsides (Northwest Missouri State); Sam Charles (Montana State, Billings); Orolando Duffus (St. Augustine's College); Alex Gilde (Grand Valley State); Marcus Greatens (Winona State University); Malcolm Ingram (Philadelphia University); Jon Koenigsfeld (Valdosta State); Jarrell NeSmith (Tusculum College).

The national award winners will be announced in September.