Magee to receive Lapchick Character Award

Magee to receive Lapchick Character Award

NEW YORK – Philadelphia University men's basketball head coach Herb Magee has been selected as a recipient of the 2016 Joe Lapchick Character Award Thursday. Magee is one of three award recipients as former Fordham University men's basketball head coach Johnny Bach and women's basketball pioneer Maryanne Stanley were also tabbed for the honor.

"I have heard of the Lapchick Award for years and I am completely humbled an honor to win this award," said Magee. "I am especially honored that my good friend Jim Lynam will be my presenter."

The award—in its ninth year—is named for the Naismith Hall of Fame coach and is presented by a group that includes Joe Lapchick biographer and former player Gus Alfieri. It recognizes those who have shown the character traits of Lapchick, who coached at St. John's and with the New York Knicks. For further information regarding the awards and luncheon please visit

The awards will be presented at a luncheon held at the Grand Ballroom of the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel on Friday, Nov. 18 with the recipients being honored that night during the 2K Sports Classic, benefiting the Wounded Warrior Project at Madison Square Garden.

A 2011 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, Magee is second in NCAA men's basketball history with 1,032 career victories, all at Philadelphia University. Magee—who will be going into his 50th season as the Rams' head coach—has led the Rams to 29 NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 1970 NCAA College Division National Championship.

His coaching has produced 13 All-Americans, including 2007 Daktronics NCAA Division II Player of the Year Christian Burns, and 44 1,000-point scorers.

A member of seven Halls of Fame, Magee is also enshrined in the West Catholic High School Hall of Fame, Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame (1979), Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame (1979), Philadelphia University Athletics Hall of Fame (1984), Philadelphia Area Small College Basketball Hall of Fame (2002), and the Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame (2008).

In 2005, Magee was selected as a "Guardian of the Game" by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) under its Education core value and was honored at the NCAA Division I Final Four. Two years later, Magee was given the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Philadelphia Sports Congress. The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association tabbed Magee as its "Living Legend" in 2012.

In 1976, Magee earned the NABC Division II Co-Coach of the Year Award along with Puget Sound's Don Zech. He has also been recognized as the NABC Division II East District Coach of the Year (1971, '73, '89, '93), Kodak District Coach of the Year (1993), Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Coach of the Year (2008, '10), New York Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year (1993, '94, '04), and Mideast Collegiate Conference Co-Coach of the Year.

Previous winners of the Lapchick Award include Naismith Hall of Famers and Coaches Mike Krzyzewski, Dean Smith, Pat Summitt, Lou Carnesecca, John Thompson Jr., Bob Hurley Sr., Jim Phelan, Pete Carril, Jody Conradt, Cathy Rush, Morgan Wootten, Pete Newell, C.M. Newton, Don Haskins, Kay Yow, Jack Curran, Debbie Ryan, Theresa Grentz, Gene Keady and George Raveling.