Women’s Cross Country Honored for CACC Championship

2010 Cross Country CACC Award Recipients
2010 Cross Country CACC Award Recipients

Philadelphia, PA- The Philadelphia University women's cross country team was recognized during half time at the women's basketball game Thursday for their outstanding performance this season that included their second consecutive CACC Championship. PhilaU's own junior Sarah Simonetti (not pictured) took first in the race and was named the 2010 CACC 'Runner of the Year'.

Fellow junior Angelica DiNucci took 4th (20:11) at the CACC Championships.She then claimed the number 12 spot at East Regionals and joined Simonetti on the 2010 All Region Team. The conference further recognized PhilaU by naming four female runners to all CACC including Sarah Simontetti, Angelica DiNucci, Gabrielle Dei Tos and Chelsea Attaway, who also was named 'Rookie Runner of the Year'.

Three members of the men's team were named All-CACC including Kip Kirui, Tyler Dye (not pictured) and Jeff Kopczynski.

Head Coach Dave Thomas, who is in his sixth season as head coach at PhilaU, was named 'Coach of the Year' for both the men and women for the second time in his career.