Women's cross country wins second straight Jack Saint Clair Memorial Championship

Women's cross country wins second straight Jack Saint Clair Memorial Championship

PHILADELPHIA – The Philadelphia University women's cross country team placed all three runners inside the top-15 positions to claim its second straight Jack Saint Clair Memorial Championship on a rainy Saturday afternoon on Belmont Plateau.

The Rams cruised to the team title, the third Jack Saint Clair Memorial Championship in program history, with 43 points—36 points clear of second place University of the Sciences. Georgian Court was third with 101 points.

Stephanie Watson (Newport, Vt./North Country Union) was Philadelphia's fastest runner for the fifth time this season as she completed the 6-kilometer course in a time of 24 minutes, 24.1 seconds for a seventh-place finish. Victoria Frisbie (Lansdale, Pa./North Penn) finished 25:05.0 to come home 12th, with teammate Jessica Thies (Mohrsville, Pa./Schuylkill Valley) close behind in 14th with a time of 25:09.1.

Meghan Horan (Honey Brook, Pa./Twin Valley) and Maddie Conway (Glen Mills, Pa./Penncrest) clinched the victory as they claimed the final two scoring positions with finishes of 22nd and 23rd, respectively. Horan was Philadelphia's fourth finisher after crossing the finish line a time of 25:34.4. Conway had the 23rd-place time of 25:39.1 to complete the scoring.

Erin Raup (Danville, Pa./Danville) finished the race in 25:58.7 to take 28th place, while Kaitlin Beckham (Gettysburg, Pa./Fairfield Area) had the 35th-place time of 26:20. Naomi Scharf (Felton, Pa./Red Lion) came in 50th after stopping the clock in 27:02.4, just ahead of Nicole Stough (York, Pa./West York) who finished in 52nd with a time of 27:03.1. Erin Young (Huntington Valley, Pa./Archbishop Wood) was 57th with a time of 27:28.5.

Margaret Vido of the Philadelphia Runner Track Club owned the race-winning time of 21:57.6

Philadelphia will head to Haverford College for the Haverford College Invitational on Friday, Oct. 21 at 4:30 p.m.